Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Ramps up! Founds these today along the Canal Trail in Cheshire. Tons of skunk cabbage around, saw some wild onions too. Weather looks great Monday, may head to the woods looking for patches that 100 dogs haven't pissed on (unlike the canal trail) though I don't imagine they will be harvestable for another week or 2 though I'm not very experienced with these, first I've ever found! :)
20200404_150342_resized.jpg

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ramps up! Founds these today along the Canal Trail in Cheshire. Tons of skunk cabbage around, saw some wild onions too. Weather looks great Monday, may head to the woods looking for patches that 100 dogs haven't pissed on (unlike the canal trail) though I don't imagine they will be harvestable for another week or 2 though I'm not very experienced with these, first I've ever found! :)
View attachment 27096
Nice I know I’ve seen a lot. Of these ramps fishing the rivers. Didn’t know if their delectable table fareness. Looking forward to a month or so when the morel season starts. Been reading up a lot from here in CT NY and PA

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
View attachment 27096
How you make out yesterday?. More weather like today the season may begin early. Haven’t checked soil temps at all tho

·
Registered
18 Posts
How you make out yesterday?. More weather like today the season may begin early. Haven’t checked soil temps at all tho
Hit the East Block of Naugatuck State Forest yesterday... nothing...just some skunk cabbage in the wet spots and some type of lily, maybe lily-of-the-valley, no flowers yet...elevations are higher there though so growth is delayed, was hoping to spot some ramp patches for later collection.

Hit some low areas at West Rock today...no ramps but I did see Trout Lilys blooming so things are certainly progressing!

Two great days to be outside!

Trout lily
20200407_151158.jpg

·