Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm new to foraging and thinking of going out this weekend after the storms (if they happen), I was thinking of going near an apple orchard, any thoughts?

·
Registered
732 Posts
Apple is known to be a tree associated with morels, but is this a commercial apple orchard? If so, fertilizer, pesticides and herbicides may be applied there.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I found 3 babies in New Haven County. About as big around as my pinky finger. In a hemlock forest with maybe one tulip tree. A few oaks, and maples. Haha.. Not really sure why they decided to go here. I left them to go back in 2 days. Raining today, so hopefully no critters eat them up.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I found 3 babies in New Haven County. About as big around as my pinky finger. In a hemlock forest with maybe one tulip tree. A few oaks, and maples. Haha.. Not really sure why they decided to go here. I left them to go back in 2 days. Raining today, so hopefully no critters eat them up. View attachment 38592
I found 3 babies in New Haven County. About as big around as my pinky finger. In a hemlock forest with maybe one tulip tree. A few oaks, and maples. Haha.. Not really sure why they decided to go here. I left them to go back in 2 days. Raining today, so hopefully no critters eat them up. View attachment 38592
Hopefully there’ll be more when you go back!

·
Registered
732 Posts