Any sightings around Milledgeville, GA? Any tips or help?

Discussion in 'Georgia' started by timothycdykes, Mar 25, 2018.

1. timothycdykes

timothycdykes Young Morel

I'm relatively new to mushroom hunting and have tried VERY hard for almost 2 years to find morels with no luck. I know that there's a limited window of opportunity but I'm afraid I may be too far South or just not in an area where they grow (Milledgeville, GA). I've watched the temperatures like a hawk the last 2 seasons and searched very thoroughly in some places around here I would expect to find them, if they're going to grow at all, but have had no luck.

Has anyone found morels in or around Milledgeville? It's difficult for me to make time to travel North and due to the narrow window I'm worried I may lose my chance again this year. Any advice or tips is also greatly appreciated.

1 person likes this.
  2. stripernut

stripernut Morel Enthusiast

not sure of any success below the fall line but I would concentrate on flood plains around creeks and rivers. That's where I find them and I'm just above the fall line.

3. NCRealEstateGuy

NCRealEstateGuy Morel Enthusiast

What do you mean by "The fall line"?

4. stripernut

It separates the piedmont region from the upper coastal plain. Supposedly it's where the ocean was at it's highest in years long gone by. you can find a map online.

LeSuze and (deleted member) like this.
  5. NCRealEstateGuy

NCRealEstateGuy Morel Enthusiast

OK! Thanks. Interesting.
    So far, here in Concord, I am finding nothing at my Indicator Spots. The forecast has me believing that it will be next week.

6. eidolon

eidolon Morel Enthusiast