Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

Beginner help

6K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Shroomtrooper 1 
#1 ·
Hi! I am a college student at the university of Wisconsin river falls, and I’m looking into trying to hunt for morels this spring. Any tips would be great! And if anyone would like to mentor me/ take me along I would be very grateful!

thank you!
John

#8 ·
Well, that was awkward...

Hello John. Wisconsin seems to be a great state to hunt. I’m from Ohio and haven’t ever hunted there. They do seem to do quite well there from what I’ve seen. The elm trees that have just died are what you want to figure out first. There’s a lot of information on this site to take in to consideration. A general rule that can be followed is when the lilacs are blooming, it’s time to go shrooming. They’ll be out there for sure then, but have also probably been out for a little bit too. Especially in microclimates. You’ll figure those out better with experience. I’d say when the dandelions start blooming in masses and the tulips bloom, start searching and focusing on south facing hills. Good luck!

#9 ·
Howdy John @JohnS42
and to Any New Folks on here.
We Welcome You to Enjoy and be Happy.
so..if you will go or have now gone back a few years and begin reading forward till present..
you be finding yourself self..
as if you are almost out there living and learning and exploring and enjoying right beside all of us Awesome Caracters..
Woodsman Outdoorsman Naturalist
self Reliant Last of the Frontiersmen..
its an Everything Read...
a Novel, a Poem, a Love story,
an Adventure, a Hunters log, and a Drama
a Comedy, a Documentary..
its Also a Family with a Love for the Hunt
its a Legacy..and its More.. its Anything and its Everything..
and any Questions that anyone has are already Answered in all our Pages and Postings Past...
After Reading You Should Feel Good..
You Will Know Us..
just all Good Good.. And Win Win
So John ...Read Read... Enjoy Enjoy