black morels

Discussion in 'West Virginia' started by mon co stan, Apr 14, 2013.

1. mon co stan

mon co stan Young Morel

found 21 blacks on a 15 min walk today

2. kscurlyblond

kscurlyblond Young Morel

Hi, Im new to WV. Ive hunted morels since I was a kid, in Kansas. Im trying to get a feel for when to look around here. Im in Elkins. Can I hunt in the National Forest?

3. fisher

fisher Young Morel

Found blacks10 yesterday and 40 today

4. pbwv

pbwv Morel Connoisseur

Kscurlyblond. There is alot of public hunting areas around elkins. Im sure theres plenty of shrooms around in them woods. but for the national forests you would have to talk to some dnr or park rangers because some plants are protected there.

5. kscurlyblond

kscurlyblond Young Morel

Thanks PBWV. I havent seen a black morel, hoping this year will be a first. Ill just keep looking! :) Im not so familiar with the terrain. I usually just went out in the flood plains but not alot of those left around here, filled with houses. More oaks also then elms I think.

6. pbwv

pbwv Morel Connoisseur

Ks ive had no luck hunting blacks in bottom lands. The blacks come up first and are normally gone by the time the yellows pop. i start my season on hill tops with lots of poplar preferably the 10 to 15 year old poplar around 8 to 16 inches in diamiter. I hope this helps some and good luck!!!

7. pbwv

pbwv Morel Connoisseur

Went for a long walk today. no new shrooms but the woods are looking good!!! Im guessing sunday for my area on blacks. wood co. wv

8. wickroy

wickroy Morel Enthusiast

should be good to go anywhere you want in the national forest. they come up a little later east of elkins as you head up to the higher mountains, try looking down low first on some south facing slopes where the ground is getting a little more sunlight and is warming up quicker.

9. kscurlyblond

kscurlyblond Young Morel