Featured fall mushrooms NY 2017

Discussion in 'New York' started by benjammin, Sep 22, 2017.

1. benjammin

benjammin Morel Enthusiast

Figured I would start a NY thread. I've been finding chickens and bears comb tooth pretty decent recently here in NY. Here's some chicken I found off one log the other day. I found it friday just barely emerging and waited until wednesday to harvest. although I don't have a scale, I think it is right around 60 to 80 lbs. happy hunting New Yorkers! IMG950880.jpg

2. Barnacle

Barnacle Morel Connoisseur

IMG_7132.JPG IMG_7082.JPG IMG_7114.JPG Hey Ben, that's an incredible picture. its good to finally hear from another New Yorker. I'm in Saratoga county area, what area of NY are you in. I also have been finding bears tooth and lions mane lately. I'm pretty new to all this but have been getting great tips and advice from a bunch of people on the Pennsylvania threads. I'd like to see i pic of the log from Friday and Wednesday if you took any prior to harvesting.

1 person likes this.

3. trahn008

trahn008 Morel Connoisseur

Benjammin now that is a haul of chickens. Congrats!!!

4. scavengerurban

scavengerurban Young Morel

Hi, guys. I live in NYC. Planing to go to Catskill to hunt some mushrooms. Does anyone recommend any areas for hunting? Thanks in advance.

Barnacle likes this.
  5. Barnacle

I don't know the area enough but my friend said bow season starts tomorrow here in NY so be careful and wear bright chlothes. Stick to places where hunting is not allowed if possible. Good luck post pics of your finds if you can.

scavengerurban likes this.
  6. benjammin