Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please post pics of black morel finds and share information about the habitat in which they grow!

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I live in the Indianapolis area, so if ANYONE IN CENTRAL INDIANA finds any blacks, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help a brother out with some knowledge! I have been finding all other colors for 15 years, but have never found a single black. A lot of people tell me that they are just plain old scarce in central, but I'm willing to wager that there are at LEAST a few posters out there that consistently find them around this latitude.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Indy Nebo, maybe my eye sight is just not what it use to but I really feel blacks don't grow around here like they use to 15 to 20 years ago. I use to find a couple of sacks full of them early in the season. Now I'm lucky to find 50. They still seem to grow in the same environment thou when I do get lucky. They like high ground with good drainage. They seem to like black cherry trees and will even grow right alongside greys around ash trees. Don't even mess with elm when hunting for blacks. The hump that's is elevated in old railroad tracks is another favorite on mine. I'm sure there is some real pros on here that are more successful at blacks. Maybe they have some more insight.

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
All good posts people, keep em coming! I don't care if all u have to share is what kind of mcdonalds breakfast sandwich u eat when u find them, I want to know!

F

·
0 Posts