Getting Started

Discussion in 'Kentucky' started by elsol77, Apr 1, 2016.

1. elsol77

elsol77 Young Morel

Hey, guys!! I have read through your posts, but I am new to this. I live in Hopkins County, and I have lots of ridges around my home. How does a beginner get success?

2. nutsak

nutsak Morel Connoisseur

go hike the woods and look under leaves near storm damaged trees.

3. stcroix rob

stcroix rob Morel Connoisseur

That's pretty vague NutSak. I never look under leaves cause there's to many of them. Best to wait for the morels to show them selves, less chance of stomping all over the babies.

"elso77" prob best to start out keying to dead up rite elm trees. A good way to spot these is cruising back roads ect, cover lots of areas that way. Just do lots of hit & runs. Plastic bags & a good knife for when ya find them. Good luck, enjoy.

4. catscards

catscards Young Morel

Damm, those blacks are TOUGH to find, last year i went peak season and the blacks were 10" tall, and drying out. Saw May apples today..good sign in city limits in L Ville. OH.., this is the beginner in west ky... a honey hole, read post, hillsides on top, facing east for early snacks. later the yellows you can see driving down the road at 35 MPH.... good luck, buckseaon 54 here

5. elsol77

elsol77 Young Morel

Thanks, guys. Is there a best time of day to hunt, or does it matter?

6. ricard76

ricard76 Morel Connoisseur

I like the mornings with the sun to my back when hunting a new spot. Makes them easier to see the blacks and smaller greys/yellows.

7. wizardscycle

wizardscycle Morel Enthusiast

blacks glow like neon in the mornin sun :)

8. nutsak

nutsak Morel Connoisseur

Once you find a spot that meets all the requirements.