Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just want to introduce myself to the group. I'm a relatively new forager, but thanks to some friends I had a great first year in 2018. Massive quantities of Black Trumpets, Chicken, and Hen were gathered. Still learning, and having fun. Who needs an excuse to explore the woods anyhow?

I'll share some photo's once I've "graduated" to that privilege.

- Cheers Folks!

·
Registered
10 Posts
I am also new to Connecticut, originally from Michigan where morels Grow by the Bushel when you find the right areas. Still looking here for the Right area. Also will be hunting other varieties when i get a new mushroom guide for RI and Ct.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
originally from Michigan where morels Grow by the Bushel...
I doubt we will find them in CT like back in Michigan, but we can try! Lately I’ve been considering the problem of the Emerald Ash Borer and it’s influence on the Morels in New England. Will it killing the Ash cause flushes?

·
Registered
10 Posts
I doubt we will find them in CT like back in Michigan, but we can try! Lately I’ve been considering the problem of the Emerald Ash Borer and it’s influence on the Morels in New England. Will it killing the Ash cause flushes?
Dont know much about Trees or beetles, but sure can find Morels if they are out there. will be looking some time in April/May, Lot's of Hills in Ct., You would Think They are growing Somewhere. maybe people Here don't have The desire For Them as to hunt them down

·
Registered
174 Posts
Hey guys. Welcome to the Ct site. Morels are definitely here. Ash trees are my biggest producers but that darn beetle is destroying