1. Hello! We recently made a change in the software, as a result you might need to change your password. Lost Password Recovery
    Dismiss Notice

Hunting Tips for Jefferson county wanted

Discussion in 'Missouri' started by Tia2001, Apr 3, 2017.

1. Tia2001

Tia2001 Morel Enthusiast

Hi I am new to mushroom hunting and I am looking for some tips on places to look in Jefferson County I live in Byrnes Mill I was planning to go look along the Big River but also wondering if anyone here would be willing to go hunting with me to show me some tips and tricks in where to look

2. aadavis422

aadavis422 Morel Enthusiast

where abouts is Jefferson county?

3. Tia2001

Tia2001 Morel Enthusiast

Byrnes mill, off of highway 30

4. Tia2001

Tia2001 Morel Enthusiast

5. timh1983

timh1983 Morel Enthusiast

They are up wow! I usually don't post on here but I must let you all know that they are up in jeffco. This weekend will be fantastic for mushrooms! Get out there.

What's interesting is it's almost too wet now. One of the yellows I found was actually rotting away from too much moisture.

My advice for looking in jeffco: private land or large public areas, look in low lands but not flood plains, look in mossy shady areas in and around tree trunk areas but I've found them in all types of environmental conditions(even in sand once...), and most importantly, be patient! This is a good year so you might find yourself lucky. Best of luck.

Ps I found mine today in a lowland areas near 141 and 30. I attached some pictures.

Attached Files:

FITTYSPENCE and Tia2001 like this.
  6. Tia2001

Tia2001 Morel Enthusiast

Thank you. I was going to go look today but the rain keeps coming and going I'll try to get out this weekend

7. mushroom jake

mushroom jake Morel Enthusiast

Look around elms and maples along the river...especially if they are dying. Sycamores can sometimes produce. Most important just have fun. A bad day of mushroom hunting is better than a good day at work. Lol