Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Found these down a ditch near the side of the road, next to what I think is an elm tree. I am a beginner mushroom hunter and need help identifying these. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

dead elm tree?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Sorry I'm no expert but those are beautiful pictures! Maybe in the future include a coin for sizing. Are there black spores? I was just reading this "Its growth on wood readily distinguishes it from the many inky caps grow on manure, straw, and similar nitrogen-rich habitats. Its medium size and clustered growth also eliminate many small (less than 3cm across when mature) or solitary species.
Mica caps must be cooked and eaten almost immediately after collecting as they will begin to deliquesce or dissolve into an inky black spore filled liquid within 1 to 3 hours."

Source: Coprinellus micaceus: The Ultimate Mushroom Guide

·
Registered
801 Posts
Why in God's name would you want to know? Are you that desperate to eat mushrooms? Then go to the market and grab some buttons and portabellos! Why mess with the unknown?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@MorchellaMaximus Thank you, and thanks for the tips! I found these on my first mushroom hunt yesterday, so I am a super beginner. I did not take a spore print, but I can go back and get one as they are very near to where I live.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
@shroomsearcher Don't worry I am not going to eat these, as I am not positive what they are. I would like to learn more about mushrooms so I can forage more in the future. Though I did eat some Dryad's saddle that I found yesterday, because it was very easy to ID. Unfortunately, no morels were to be found. Thanks for the concern, though. I will be careful :)

·
Registered
801 Posts