1. Hello! We recently made a change in the software, as a result you might need to change your password. Lost Password Recovery
    Dismiss Notice

Leeks

Discussion in 'New York' started by geogymn, Apr 9, 2017.

1. geogymn

geogymn Morel Connoisseur

Oneida County, Valley of the Mohawk. Leeks are up! Harvest next weekend. Cast iron pan, oil, a fire in the woods, that's living! Enjoy the hunt!

FattyG and Immorel like this.
  2. hoblershang

hoblershang Morel Connoisseur

Still nothing up here in the north. Won't b long though.

Immorel likes this.

3. katydid

katydid Morel Enthusiast

I'm new to leeks however I found a huge patch late last summer while scouting for deer season that were already forming seed. The place is in Jefferson Co and is a little bit of a drive from my house so I want to time my trip just right. Any tips on when I should plan to go?

Immorel likes this.
  4. geogymn

They emerge as soon as the snow cover is gone. Down here in Oneida County I could of harvested some advanced patches last weekend. Today it will be a quick task to fill a bucket. As a reference, I saw someone mowing their lawn for the first time, this spring, yesterday.

Immorel likes this.
  5. hoblershang

I'm only a few miles from Jefferson County. I'd say at least a week before they come up. Once they start it don't take long for um to grow.

Immorel likes this.
  6. geogymn

Had a leek fest yesterday. Bunch of people around a fire cooking up leeks. The leeks were grown, plentiful, and sweet!

Immorel likes this.
  7. Immorel

Immorel Morel Enthusiast

Are you guys talking about wild ramps?

8. morel rat

morel rat Morel Connoisseur

Yes Ramps and Leeks same thing... Enjoy!

9. Immorel

Immorel Morel Enthusiast

My favorite way to eat them is pickled. YUM!!

FattyG likes this.
  10. Immorel

Immorel Morel Enthusiast

I recently heard of a recipe for a ramp/leek pesto for pasta that I want to try this season. You use the leaf rather than the bulb.

FattyG likes this.