1. Hello! We recently made a change in the software, as a result you might need to change your password. Lost Password Recovery
    Dismiss Notice

Nashville Morel Hunting

Discussion in 'Tennessee' started by rmontgomery, Oct 14, 2016.

1. rmontgomery

rmontgomery Young Morel

I'm new to mushroom hunting and it appears the season for morels in March-April. I have 60 plus acres that back up to long hunter state park and am looking for someone to come show my wife and I how to search and identify. Most likely some good opportunities for other species.

2. nashvillefunghi

nashvillefunghi Morel Enthusiast

Hi there,

I've been foraging for two years. I've got good knowledge on basic stuff. There are lots of great choice edibles in the area, however, morels don't grow abundantly in Nashville. You have to get out of the basin. I'm happy to walk your land with you although now isn't the best time of year. I have been finding brown oyster mushrooms the past few weeks but we have another couple of months until the action really starts!

Shoot me an email if you're interested, I live about about 15 minutes from that park.

godslawreigns@gmail.com

3. smalford31

smalford31 Young Morel

I am from Indiana and want to come down to Tennessee to hunt - what month do they typically start to grow in northeastern Tennessee?

Thanks in advance

4. nashvillefunghi

Last year they came the second week of March but its been very warm here- 80 on Friday! I'll hit the woods this weekend for sure. Please take a friend in East Tennessee- many hill folk will defend their spots! I may make the trip east in April but who knows. Elm is the primary tree here but further north into KY poplar is better. Hope that helps.

5. smalford31

smalford31 Young Morel