Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all! I am originally from southern Ohio and moved to the Cleveland area (east of the city) and grew up picking morels with my grandpa. Last year I went out hunting but came up empty. I have been trying to do reading and find resources to get as much info as I can so I was super pumped to find this forum. I am wondering, how does the motel population compare in NE Ohio, Cleveland area to areas south of Columbus? Are there just fewer up here and how does the timing of looking for them differ? Any tips for a newbie in the area? Thanks so much can't wait to hear back you guys and gals rock!!!! Some of my best memories are finding morels with my grandpa and eating them sooooo good.....

·
Registered
212 Posts
Big Buck

I have only been hunting a few years here in NE Ohio and I am far from an expert in regards to Southern Ohio but here are few of my observations about NE Ohio and why it does not produce as well as Southern Ohio. Anyone else feel free to chime in

-Weather
NE Oh warms up really quickly and stays cold longer. We do not usually have that nice gradual warm up from winter to spring like southern ohio. It can make our season very short or non existant. Last year was terrible for me. We went from snow to 85 degrees in a matter of ten days. It did not allow the shrooms to take root and grow. They burned up before they even had a chance to get going.

-Trees
There are not that many elms around our area. Cleveland was the epicenter of Dutch Elm disease and it spread from NE ohio. Pretty much wiped out all the elms. I find very few elm trees anywhere in Cuyahoga, Geauga. Summit county seems to have more elms than where I live and I do see some in that county. Through geauga up into NE ohio is one of the largest Beech Maple forests around. Lots of Oak too. Not that good for morels.

-Terrain