New Morel Hunter - Seeking Tree I.D. Help (pics attached)

Discussion in 'Oklahoma' started by Okie21, Mar 23, 2019.

1. Okie21

Okie21 Morel Enthusiast

Hello Folks,

I am new to morel hunting but I have been a hopelessly addicted outdoorsman my entire life. In all my years hunting animals and fishing I never came across a morel until this past spring. The drought-prone tall grass prairie and ag-land habitat where I do most of my (animal) hunting in NW Oklahoma must not be good morel habitat, as I would likely have stumbled across one over my lifetime.

In any event, I stumbled across a small flush of big yellow morels on April 15th last year while turkey hunting a property near Wellston, OK. I had heard of morels but didn't know what they looked like. Having seen a LOT of different fungi incidentally while hunting each year, I knew what I had found was something different. A quick "googling" of morel mushrooms and their lookalikes yielded me a positive ID that I had indeed stumbled on morels. So I picked them and filled up my turkey decoy. After giving half my finds to the landowner I went home and cooked some. Needless to say I became hooked!

Unfortunately I was a little late for last season, as my additional foraging of the same property a week later (April 21st) only yielded a few more morels. In reading 2018's OK message board I see that most people in central OK had stopped finding numbers of fresh morels by that time. The initial flush I stumbled on yielded nearly 2 pounds, but all my searching of the rest of 100 acres brought maybe 5 fresh morels. I did find many that were dried and broken though. After that first find I got on this site and read every post for the last three years on the Oklahoma message board. I learned a lot and have subsequently read many articles and watched many videos, and I am very excited to intentionally seek them out this season!