Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not sure if this is the best place to put this, but I'm not sure where else I should post it.

I live in CNY ( Oswego County ) and would love to get into Morel hunting ( and more ). I have very little experience with foraging, limited mainly to ramps and cowslips.

I'd love to find someone or a group that I could go out with and learn from. I'd gladly bring a bag and knife and help out. While I know that there is tons of information both here & other places on the web, there's nothing like learning in-person.

I'm looking for an education so I don't end up dead or worse when I look on my own. I'm game for hunting up any kind of mushrooms or other local edibles for myself & maybe some friends. It's just something I'd like to do as a hobby to give me a reason to get out of the house.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I probably should have added that any tips are welcomed, I just don't think I'd be comfortable going out on my own without at least 1 "outing" with a competent forager :)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Me too! I don't seem to be looking in the right places. I also would like to find other edible mushrooms. Maybe there are local classes through 4H or the Ag dept. Have you had any luck finding a mentor? I'm near the VT border and don't know anyone knowledgeable in wild mushrooms here.

·
Registered
689 Posts
I am afraid that most people can't help beginners out. I will speak for myself..... I get into the woods at any opportunity that I can, however it is rather spontaneous.
Also when I forage I enjoy it most when I am alone. There is no pressure when I am alone, I don't need to find anything to accomplish my goal.
I have and will take out a family member but only to introduce them to the mystery and magic of the woods.