Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all:

I am new to the Front Range area and am looking to get out for some morels, but I have a few questions: 1) I live in Longmont, CO; am I too late; and 2) where--near me--would I even attempt to look?

I am an experienced morel hunter originally from Michigan (and know when and where to go back home), but I just do not know when and where to go around here.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hello there,
I live in Longmont too. I've never mushroom hunted before but I am definitely going to get out there this year. Driving around town ive been looking for places to hunt. Im going to check along St. Vrain Creek just south of 3rd street. There are walking paths there on both sides of Hover. Lots of cottonwoods in that area. Like i said, ive never hunted before but im gonna check out those spots in the near future. I think i will also join the mycological society this year for their guided hunts so I can get my feet wet. Let me know if you find anything around here. Ive never had a morel but im determined to try one this year one way or another!!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Given the date, I would not put much effort into the river bottom morels right now, your a few weeks late. Head to the hills and look for the blacks, you may find a few greys and yellows up high also near cottonwoods but there is not a lot of public areas that host the right conditions in your area. Find a forest access between Estes and Ned that has had forest activities like logging or thinning in the last couple of years. Also areas with heavy beetle mortality in the lodge pole should start producing in the next week. Good luck.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4