1. Hello! We recently made a change in the software, as a result you might need to change your password. Lost Password Recovery
    Dismiss Notice

new to this

Discussion in 'Nebraska' started by justanewhunter, Apr 26, 2014.

1. justanewhunter

justanewhunter Morel Enthusiast

Hi I am new to searching for morels is there any advice or help that can be giving as to where about to look for them at?

Thanks and best of luck to everyone.

2. shroomanitutanka

shroomanitutanka Morel Connoisseur

Start in creek or river bottoms for the next 3-5 days. The greys are up with the blondes starting to pop too! They'll progress into the hills over the next week & a half. Look for moister soil conditions, especially on areas exposed to abundant sunshine. Take your time & be patient. When you find one, stop and scan the area starting in a 4-5 ft space completely around you. You mave have to move a few leaves, but they're there. A sturdy walking stick helps!
    Happy Hunting!
    Shroomanitutanka

3. justanewhunter

Thank you Shroomanitutanka for the advice. Hope I can find some and again best of luck to you!!

4. htebcam6

htebcam6 Young Morel

I've hunted on and off for morels around Kearney for years without ever finding one. Friday I made a concerted effort for three hours and found about 30, so I was stickled by success at last! Then yesterday I had only half an hour or so so I tried a new spot and found the Mother Lode of morels. A patch maybe 30 x 30 feet with hundreds of them in it, visible at one glance! Only had a one-gallon bucket, so I'm headed back for lots more tomorrow! This is great fun, and they are soooo tasty!

5. shroomanitutanka

Where exactly is your new spot? Heh, heh! I've had to take my jacket & shirt off before and tie off the sleeves so that I could fill them with morels. Learned to always pack more storage bags when ever I go this time of year. I'm happy for you. Enjoy your find & remember to share with family & friends!
    Happy Hunting!