NJ Peeps - Where Are You?

Discussion in 'New Jersey' started by brandilippincott, Apr 7, 2015.

1. brandilippincott

brandilippincott Morel Enthusiast

I used to pick morels all the time in Alaska. When I moved to NJ (I live in Medford), the trees are all different and I have been unable to find the elusive morel. Is there anyone that would take me under their wing? My morel hunting eyes are a bit rusty, but I am sure I can easily dust them off to spot like a champ! I have been telling my daughter about them for years, but she has been unable to taste them. Please, I beg of you! :)

2. beerstalker

beerstalker Morel Enthusiast

m actually Upstate NY-But I work in Sussex,NJ. Always up for a "Quest".

3. danieljs7

danieljs7 Young Morel

Hey, I live pretty close to Medford over in Mount Laurel..... This is my first season out hunting for morels, so I'm still learning. If I find any, I'll let you know.

4. hossler59

hossler59 Morel Enthusiast

Hi! I am new to NJ, living in Mt Laurel area. We used to pick in Il and Ky, but not sure of the season here. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am ready to go!!

5. beerstalker

beerstalker Morel Enthusiast

Start looking in about 2 weeks-I'm in North NJ and season usually starts 2 weeks after Wild Leek pops up-And that happened today! You may be a few days earlier-like next weekend? Season ends around end of May. I suggest searching to the south early on-and to the north later-Couple days can make a difference when you're talking 100 miles!

6. hossler59

Thanks for the info, will let you know if I find anything.

7. dberry78

dberry78 Morel Enthusiast