North West Arkansas- 3 miles from the Buffalo River

Discussion in 'Arkansas' started by jean marie, Mar 16, 2015.

1. jean marie

jean marie Morel Connoisseur

Hello fellow Arkansans! I'm a newbie to this forum. This is my second year of foraging for mushrooms. But have been foraging for wild edible plants for 10 years now. Has anyone had any luck finding any morels lately? I found my first morels last year about the first week of April. Is that the norm for this area? Any replies would be appreciated. Thank you

2. arkanshrooms

arkanshrooms Morel Connoisseur

None yet. I have been out every day hiking waterfalls and watching for new growth. Look me up on facebook. I'm in Crawford county near the Mulberry River. 1st week of April is the norm. This year I joined the Arkansas Mycological Society and will be going on a foray soon.

3. jean marie

Unfortunately, well not really lol.. I do not have a FB account. I'm in Marion County. I am also a member of the AMS. I attended my first foray last year in October at Devil's Den State Park. May I ask which foray you will be attending? I haven't kept up much lately.

4. arkanshrooms

I got the Newsletter about the Morel Forays in the mail. Didn't you get one? You have to pay dues every year to remain an active member I believe.

5. jean marie

Yes that is correct. I must have over looked it as junk mail by mistake :(
    I will look online for the next foray. Thanks

6. arkanshrooms

Still no morels in my area so far.

7. jean marie

None here either. I've been out in the woods for a couple hrs each day the past 3 days.