Northern MN boyz

Discussion in 'Minnesota' started by Shroomtrooper 1, May 8, 2018.

1. Shroomtrooper 1

Shroomtrooper 1 Morel Connoisseur

Heard a report of blacks coming up in the Walker area, anyone up there finding any.

Apocalypse and (deleted member) like this.
  2. Apocalypse

Apocalypse Morel Enthusiast

Hmm interesting i Havn't heard anyone around here having any luck so far. Its still pretty cold dropping down to the 30s at night around here but i will go out scouting a bit today and let you know.
    I'm new to Morel hunting but been scouting some places around here to go and its a nice day for a hike. :)

3. Shroomtrooper 1

Apocalypse, anything happening yet?

1 person likes this.
  4. Apocalypse

No, But ill keep at it gonna do some hiking and fishing to weekend. Thursday i did happen to find around 30 lbs of chaga tho. :p

5. Shroomtrooper 1

nice, good luck

1 person likes this.
  6. Apocalypse

Next week looks good we are suppose to get rain friday night into saturday. :)

7. prm

prm Morel Enthusiast

Just moved to Hubbard from Iowa. Any tips are appreciated.

8. Apocalypse

I'm a newbie when it comes to morels and haven't had any luck. Reports are true I know several people last weekend who got into blacks.
    Only thing I can suggest is learn the trees scout land to go to and just start walking. I'm headed to where I've heard people are finding them but neither know the spots or where to begin so I'm just gonna do that. Explore. You in the PR area?

Dtails likes this.
  9. prm

prm Morel Enthusiast

Thank you so much! I am gonna go give it a try right now! Rain yesterday should have helped. I usually find yellows under deam elms, but no elms here. Yes, I live near Long Lake. What kinds of trees? Any pictures would be great!! I heard that you can find blacks under smaller Aspen/Poplar trees, the size of a popcan. Do the trees need to be dead? Are recent clearcuts productive? The deer ticks are out in full force so be careful!

10. Apocalypse