Oklahoma Message Board 2014

Discussion in 'Oklahoma' started by okie shroom hunter, Jan 3, 2014.

1. okie shroom hunter

okie shroom hunter Morel Connoisseur

Happy New Year y'all,Can't wait for the morels to start poppin. Good luck to everyone this year :)

2. morel belle

morel belle Morel Enthusiast

Picking season can't get here soon enough. I have been hunting for two years, but I only found a few last year. I was so proud of my 20 mushrooms. After looking at post on this forrum I realized that I have alot to learn. I live in edmond any pointers will be appreciated.

3. nate

nate Morel Connoisseur

Happy 2014 everyone. We are getting close so I thought I'd check in and say hi. I'm sure the board will start buzzing in a month!! Morel Belle, stick close to Rivers or creek beds. Elm is the most popular tree around here to hunt, but I have luck near cedars and cottonwoods too... I like hopping from spot to spot, if I spend an hour somewhere trying without anything to show, I usually go somewhere else. Sometimes a perfect looking area can have few or no morels.

4. iwonagain

iwonagain Morel Connoisseur

Hopefully the synoptics will reverse in February and March to a wetter weather pattern. I truly enjoyed my 2000+ morels find on my first year hunting on Okie soil last year and plan on finding as many in 2014 to share them around (i.e., for free)...as "the fun is in the hunt".
    The next 15 days will be prime for erratic wildfires across the state, which is generally good for morels- The lack of rain, however, isn't. Thou shall see and fingers crossed-

5. okie shroom hunter

If we can keep the above average rainfall I think it will be a great year

and to add to Nate's list of trees I seem to do good around persimmon, bois d'arc,and catalpa and really most popular trees, but hey with morels you never really can tell.

6. morel belle

How do you change your avatars?

7. morel belle

Does southeast oklahoma have prime season before central oklahoma?