Morel Mushrooms and Mushroom Hunting banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
881 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Post up your bolete pics in this thread. Boletes are a large mushroom group and need there own thread for study. Try to figure out what type you have before posting. Not looking for "I went for a hike today and found these what are they".. Happy Hunting!

·
Registered
881 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
My uncle was out on his quad yesterday and brought back a leccinum mushroom. We call them red tops local.. Not in the bolete family anymore, they have them in Boletaceae group. I was kind of surprised by his find, I don't really start finding them until mid July. We target the red tops in and around grey birch tree's. I don't have a picture, but will get out this week to see if I could find some to photo. Happy Hunting!

·
Registered
31 Posts
I've been picking the red toppers since I was 2 to 3 years old with my grandfather and my father that's over 60+ years. In my area they were I abundance for years and years but now that these stupid warehouse buildings are taking over in the northeast Pa. And the wild land acres are shrinking and being used and sold for that purpose we're lucky if we will have any place to look in the future. These shrooms are the king for the polish mushroom soup I make.

·
Registered
538 Posts
I've been picking the red toppers since I was 2 to 3 years old with my grandfather and my father that's over 60+ years. In my area they were I abundance for years and years but now that these stupid warehouse buildings are taking over in the northeast Pa. And the wild land acres are shrinking and being used and sold for that purpose we're lucky if we will have any place to look in the future. These shrooms are the king for the polish mushroom soup I make.