T

3K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  WKU77 
#1 · (Edited)
T

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
View attachment 4408 Hey everybody,

First off, let me say cheers to a good season this year! I have been hunting and eating morels around SW Virginia since 2002. I wanted to spread some information about some ways we can all help to keep our morels coming back season to season and in greater numbers. A great resource is Paul Stamets book Mycelium Running. In the book he shows how we can harvest the mushrooms from the wild and use the very bottom of the stem ( known as the stem-butt) to actually regrow the mycelium onto wet cardboard to create more spawn and then transplant that into the woods or even start your own beds in a garden. I plan on trying this method this season and see how it goes. I will post the directions below:

1. Gather fresh mushrooms
2. Using a knife or scissors, clip off the base of the stem just above where it narrows, keeping the root-like rhizomorphs intact and attached to the stem.
3. Soak cardboard in water until it is fully saturated. Tear off sections to expose corrugations.
4. Place 1 stem butt on the cardboard roughly every 16 square inches, and sandwich them between panels of corrugation.
5. Soak the stem butts and cardboard in water and place in a cardboard box, trunk, old bathtub, sink, or trough, or simply on the ground, and cover with a shallow layer of wood chips.
6. Keep in the shade, with the incubating container on the ground to limit temperature fluctuation.
7. Incubate for 4 to 8 months before transplanting

At this point, you can use each sheet of cardboard as a mycelia like footprint to inoculate and outdoor bed, stacked burlap sacks or straw bales. Or you can place sheets interspersed within a stack of moist newspapers and let the become myceliated over several months. Your imagination is the only limit. However, the mycelium must be moved (transplanted) or it will die.